Ordained and Inducted

Trying hard to fit the cassock

I know it’s difficult to believe – I can hardly believe it myself – but I HAVE been ordained as a Church of Scotland Minister in the Parish of Bishopton. The Service of Ordination and Induction organised and lead by the Presbytery of Greenock and Paisley was very moving and inspirational for everyone involved. The service was wonderful, the preaching was very good, the singing was uplifting and enthusiastic – a truly remarkable event.

So many people to thank, so many to be grateful to and grateful for! What I find truly wonderful is that I hardly had to do anything myself, except answer some questions, sit and stand up when I was told to do so, and say words prepared for me by others. This felt so appropriate, because it was the Presbytery who ordained me, and it was the congregation who welcomed me to be their minister. It was both humbling and heart-warming to be lead, to be told what to do, to kneel and feel the weight of hands of the ministers gathered around me in the prayer of ordination.

I know it will take some time for it all to sink in. It will take time for me to come to terms with what just happened yesterday, and what it means for the future. All I need now is to find some time to think about it. That is not going to be easy. This is where the challenge begins. Where do you find the time to stop all the ‘doing’, and do some ‘thinking’?

Leave a Reply

